Organizing Committee

Feel free to reach out with any general questions or suggestions at efmp(at)!

Akash Gupta

  • Academic year: 5th year PhD
  • Major: planetary science
  • Research interests: How do planets form and evolve with time?
  • Hobbies: Climbing
  • Email: akashgpt(at)

Valeria Jaramillo (she/her)

  • Academic year: 3rd year PhD
  • Major: structural geology
  • Research interests: structural geology, geochronology, thermobarometry
  • Hobbies: Enjoying an amazing, cloudy, colorful beach sunset. Hiking, eating, and hanging out with friends.
  • Email: jaramillov29(at)

Arthur Lo (he/him)

  • Academic year: 4th year undergraduate
  • Major: geophysics
  • Research interests: plate tectonics, mantle dynamics, and volcanoes
  • Hobbies: Hiking, singing
  • Email: wklo(at)

Morgan Carrington (she/they)

  • Academic year: 4th year undergraduate
  • Major: geology
  • Research interests: planetary surface processes, structural geology, planetary analogs
  • Hobbies: Stargazing, listening to and finding new music, trying new foods, puzzles, camping, hiking, swimming
  • Email: mcarrington4(at)

Xiyuan Bao (he/him)

  • Academic year: 4th year PhD
  • Major: geophysics
  • Research interests: Mantle dynamics, plate tectonics
  • Hobbies: reading novel, watching TV series
  • Email: xiyuanbao(at)

Teresa Huang (she/her)

  • Academic year: 4th year undergraduate
  • Major: engineering geology
  • Research interests: I want to go into the geotechnical industry
  • Hobbies: thrifting, baking, crocheting, and video games
  • Email: teresamhuang(at)

Lauren Tafla (she/her)

  • Academic year: 2nd year PhD
  • Major: geochemistry
  • Research interests: isotope geochemistry and cosmochemistry
  • Hobbies: outdoor activities and art
  • Email: laurentafla(at)

Professor Carolina Lithgow-Bertelloni

  • Position: Louis B. and Martha B. Slichter Endowed Chair in Geosciences, UCLA EPSS
  • Education:
    • PhD in Geology, 1994 (University of California at Berkeley)
    • BSc in Geology, 1987 (University of Puerto Rico at Mayag├╝ez)
  • Research interests: plate tectonics, mantle dynamics, thermodynamics of mantle minerals
  • Hobbies: Comic books
  • Email: clb(at)